PRESIDENT'S letter International Bureau for Epilepsy 16 January 2009

Dear Friends

May I begin by wishing you all a wonderful New Year! A first and major activity to report on is the outcome of the Elections of IBE officers for the International Executive Committee 2009-2013.

I wish to congratulate Mike Glynn, as the new President, Eric Hargis as the Secretary General and Grace Tan as the new Treasurer. I am confident that they will be a terrific team with all their valuable experiences and the great leadership of Mike Glynn.

I sincerely hope that Dr Thanos Covanis will remain active in the IBE with his great expertise and his dedicated focus on children with epilepsy. I also hope that Dr Man Mohan Mehndiratta and Mr Frank Gouveia will continue their great contributions for people with epilepsy. IBE needs all of this great commitment to help it achieve its goals.

I would also like to take this apportunity to congratulate the newly elected Vice Presidents in the International Executive Committee. I am happy udi Arabia), Mrs Mary Secco (North to see Dr Abdulaz Z Alsemaii nd Dr Carlos Acevedo (Latin America), Dr Shunglon Lai (*) o delighted to welcome America) re-electe some new member Anthony Zimba (Afth East Asia). All of rica), Janet Mifsuo these Vice Preside the field of epileps to the progress of "old" members wi constructive atmo new committee ov sembly in Budape

You will have been informed of the next election process regarding menbers to the seven Regional Executive Committees. It would like to encourage all of you to take an a tive part in the nonmetron process so all the positions will be filled in the time. Don't he take to contact the IBE effici if you need further interestation.

Best wishes to all

Susanne Lund President

CONGRATULATIONS!